The Word on Worldliness

A couple of months ago I read C. J. Mahaney’s book Worldliness: Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World. This book was and continues to be a source of conviction to me. What a joy it is to have our thirst for our past mindset and activities wane as our thirst for Christ and his transforming work in our lives increases. While I was reading it, my pastor, Drew Conley, was preparing to present a paper on Worldliness at the Mid-America Conference on Preaching at Detroit. I was also very excited to know that he would be presenting his study to our people at Hampton Park. The first question I asked him was, “Have you read Mahaney’s book?” To which he answered “No. Intentionally.” I appreciated his response. He wanted this to be a first-hand, biblical survey of the topic without too many outside influences. Drew Conley’s treatment of the topic was thorough, balanced, and convicting. I was especially excited to see the similarities in the two studies. This tells me Mahaney and Conley are reading the same “book.” Nonetheless, I wanted to post a .pdf of the general outline of Pastor Conley’s messages as well as the audio messages themselves. I hope this will be of spiritual benefit to you as it has been to our people.

Leave a Reply

